Everything’s always a contest with you

Now, Japanese food is almost uniformly excellent, but every now and then it’s possible to get a craving for Western style food at 2 am. And if that’s your game, you can’t go past the popular 24-hour diner Jonathan’s for a fix of greasy home-style cooking. Like this:

…or not. Okay. I have a policy here to eat first and ask questions later. A policy which has seen me eat deep-fried flowers and raw horse, but a policy which has rarely steered me wrong. Until now.

If you would like to make tomato ice-cream, here’s how it’s done:

1. Take tomato sauce.

2. Freeze.

3. Eat.

4. Lordy.

Still, there’s always a refreshing drink to wash the taste away:

In its defense, I haven’t tried this yet, but I was feeling slightly down on red vegetables after my first outing.

On the flip side, I took some Darrell Lea liquorice into work today, which has been scientifically proven as awesome. For a lot of my co-workers, this was the first time they had ever tried liquorice.

However, instead of the looks of fawning admiration I was banking on for introducing this miracle into their lives, I noticed much more of a subtle, kind of “horrified revulsion” vibe going on.  The best compliment I got is that it was like eating an old tire.

So by my calculations, in the Antipodean-Japanese Battle of Gastronomic Terror, that’s one bowl of tomato ice-cream to one bag of liquorice.  The score is 1-all.  Bring it on, I say.

4 thoughts on “Everything’s always a contest with you

  1. The Dutch stuff does not count as liquorice. In the food pyramid, it is classified in the “crimes against nature” family (it’s very small, right at the top).

  2. Nope. It’s licorice and it’s food. Cause I like it. And that’s all that matters. Look at some of the stuff you’ve eaten…… =D

  3. Lol, this is your funniest post yet sir! Loved it 🙂 I can’t imagine eating frozen tomato sauce for dessert 🙂 The thought is probably worse than the actual taste though.

Leave a Reply

