Defeated on every technology front

Lately, I’ve been getting stuck into my study for the Japanese Language Proficiency Test level 2 in December.  It’s apparently much more challenging in terms of kanji and vocab than level 3, so I bought a textbook to help me.  Now, I’ve seen quite a few textbooks in my time (the covers of them, at least).  With all that study experience, why have I never seen something like this before?

Japanese textbook

That’s right – no more using your hand to cover the answers or shutting one eye!  Harnessing the mighty power of red cellophane and red ink, revision becomes a snap!

I showed this to a few of my co-workers, and they all said that this is a very standard feature of Japanese school textbooks.  I don’t remember ever seeing a textbook like this before – did I just not take the right classes? 

Honestly, I’m so disappointed in Western education technology that I feel like writing a letter to the editor.  I don’t say that lightly.

One thought on “Defeated on every technology front

  1. I read somewhere that the human race is gradually losing the ability to see red. Is this some kind of evolutionary combat to that?

Leave a Reply

